On the train home and due to arrive at 0003:

疲れたが今日経験したものや見た風景はそうそう感じたり見れるものじゃなかったと思う。
今日は唐松岳という山に向けて八方尾根(八方池尾根?)を登りました。
姉妹には唐松岳には届かず大手山のケレンで引き返しましたがそれでもいい感じでした。
紅葉、雪、風と太陽。
秋と冬、季節2つ分の環境をあじわえた感じがします。

We started off at 0600 to cook breakfast and leave at 0700.
Breakfast was quickly made by my father and yours truly.
Omelette and salad with some bread.
Simple but a nice start to the day.
Then it was in the car and off to the mountains after shopping for supplies to keep us fed during our hike.

image

最初はゴンドラ一つとリフトを2つ。
ある程度上がったところで歩き始めました。
2つ目のリフトを降りた時点ではすでに雪が降っていました。
日本で見た初めての雪、カナダの自然で見る雪と大して変わりませんでした。
雪合戦にちょうどいいちょっとしっとりとした雪でした。
日本の温度と湿度のおかげでしょうか?

image

We trekked upwards through cloudy skies hoping that it would clear up as the day went on but it didn’t look like it would.
Clouds covered the skies and the winds blew heard enough to make it difficult to hold my camera (phone) and scenery still to take nice pictures.
We kept walking until snow completely covered the trail and it was almost ankle deep (I was wearing trail runners but am surprisingly dry).
We reached a saddle where the winds blew hard enough to start pushing us over.
Discussion started on whether we should turn back or not but I suggested we keep going because there was a way point so so close.
Just as we reached the top, where the winds howled strong enough to blow you over if you weren’t careful, the skies cleared.

image

すごい風の中で結構な苦労してとったこの写真。
Googleのフォトスフィアを撮るのには同じところで立って複数の写真を撮る必要があります。
同じところに立つのに体を風に向けて45度傾けてやっとでした。
そこから降りてくる間はずっと晴れ。
「上がってくる時もこんな感じだったらよかったのに」でも降りてくる時と上にいた時でさえ晴れてくれてよかったです。
写真じゃ分かりませんが向かい側の山はふもとが紅葉、真ん中が落葉、上が雪の状態でした。

image

Upon return to flat land we went for food at a soba place along the road home.
Warming up with some soba tea and tempura couldn’t have been better after a hike in the cold mountains.

image

そうして数時間後の今寮に向かうところまで至るのです。
疲れましたが楽しい週末でした。
なんか毎週そうですね。
いいことだと思います。
つまらない週末より楽しい週末のほうが。
でもプロポーザルの下書きその弐の提出日が近づいています。
その壱は全く役に立たないものだとレビューが帰ってきたので完全に書き直しです。
でもそのおかげで方針を定めることが出来ました。
あ、カナダに戻った時の宿も決まりそうになりました。
そのために明日の朝0500にスカイプを通して打ち合わせ。
早く寝ねば・・・
また仕事で寝てしまう・・・
まぁ、やることがいっぱいあれば寝ないのですが。
データシートや論文読んでたりしたらどうしても眠く・・・
努力します。
もちろん寝ない方に。